Ngāmotu News 
June 14th,  2021

District Governor: Gillian Jones     2020/21

President: Sally Morch

Secretary: Michael Archer
Club Website:
Next Guest Speaker :26th June
Andy Ramage-Brown (Gary Brown's daughter):
Subject: Te Araroa Cycleway North Cape to Bluff
Apologies for Meetings by 12.00 Noon Day of meeting
To Wally Garrett: 
Mobile: 027 859 7580
Home: 7550988
For Meeting 14th June

Sally Morch, Jan Dempsey, David Brownson, David Lusk, Stephen Bovett, Wally Garrett, Michael Archer, Des Friedrich, Dennis Eales,  Owen McCluggage, Gary Brown, Tony Bird, David Gibson
Apologies:  Chas Wilcox,  Geoff Harding, Murray Gillespie, Mike Makein
Rotary Guests:
DG Gillian Jones, Kevin Prestney, AG Kay Kendall, Marilyn and Wayne Stevens
NPBHS Guests:
Rebekah Smith, Janica Moore, Ryan Flynn, Solomom Ord- Walton, Andrew Walton, Danny
Kevin and Karen Neilson and Family
Members Partners/Friends:
Raewyn Lusk, Naida Gibson, Barbara Garrett, Mary Bird, Marie Brown, Jeanette Brownson, Tracey Bovett, Jackie 
Fines:  Michael Archer fined members on their numeracy skills.
3 Minute Talk: David Lusk
David Lusk’s three minute talk centred around motor homes and the organising of a NZ rally which was very successfully held here in New Plymouth and attracted 982 vans. David and Raewyn were part of the team that orchestrated the weekend where a Grand Old night on the Saturday was very popular. The theme for the weekend was “Taranaki”
Parting Thought: Des Friedrich

Be careful with your words.

Once they are said they can only be forgiven not forgotten

Think before you speak

Is it true?

Is it helpful?

Is it inspiring?

Is it necessary/

Is it kind?

Message from President Sally
On the 14th of June a very pleasant evening was enjoyed by all.  We had visitors from District.  District Govenor Gillian Jones and partner Kevin Prestney and District Govenor Nominee Marilyn Stevens and husband Wayne. Marilyn has an interest in Interact clubs in our district.  The chartering of our Interact club based at New Plymouth Boys’ High School was celebrated along with the presentation of three new Paul Harris Fellow awards and a sapphire pin award. 
Des and I met with the Interact students and representatives from NPDC last Friday at the Ian Ellison Reserve on the walkway north of the Rewa Rewa bridge.  The boys are keen to work on clearing the area and will be starting after the school holidays on Thursday afternoons. The project will be approximate five to six weeks.  We will require some members to help supervise them when they are working.  
I attended the New Plymouth North changeover on Thursday and we had an enjoyable night with other Rotarians.  I will be attending the District changeover in Palmerston North on 3rd July.  This will include a strategy meeting after the official changeover which may inform some changes in the district.  Further information will be reported back to the club.

Yours in Rotary
President Sally
Meeting: Thanks to Wally Garrett for taking Notes

This night was significant for a variety of reasons.

As there is there to be no Presidential changeover this year, it was decided by the Directors that this night was to be used instead to acknowledge some Rotary events.


The first of which was a presentation by President Sally on behalf of the Clubs Charitable Trust to the Habitat for Humanity team, a “symbolic cheque” for $2000. This is to go towards their latest project in Waitara where a house is being built for a family with six children. 

The second event on the night was the inauguration of the new Interact Club, by Gillian Jones the District Governor. This Club consists of six boys from NPBHS. Marilyn Stevens the 9940 District Youth Director who was also present, made the comment this would the 10th in the District and makes a very welcome addition.

The third event for the evening was the awarding of Paul Harris Fellow awards.

The first went to Dennis Eales for longstanding service to Rotary over many years and the second was to David Brownson was for his contribution and service to Rotary over many years.

The third went to Kevin Nielsen a non Rotarian for his service to the community. He has had a variety of roles as Chief Executive leading the local Hospice, prior to his current role with RDA where he is the current President.

The fourth PHF went to Wally Garrett who was presented with the sapphire pin for services to Rotary.

This was the largest number of PHF’S awarded on one night by the Club.

Each of the recipients thanked the Club in their own ways, for the recognition and acknowledgement of their service.


Bulletin Editor
Murray Gillespie
Roster for June/July 2021
June 28th July 5th July 12th
Guest Speaker/
Te Araroa Cycleway
Andy Ramage- Brown
Social Night
at David and Naida Gibson's
 3 Baring Terrace
Greeter/Tidy Up
Owen McCluggage   Murray Gillespie
Jan Dempsey   Stephen Bovett
Gary Brown   Mike Makein
Stephen Bovett   Harry Duynhoven
Dennis Eales   Des Friedrich
3 Minute Talk
Sally Morch   David Gibson
Parting Thought
Tony Bird   Wally Garrett
If you are unable to do the duty set out in the list above please contact another member to fill in for you. Please let President Sally know who has taken your place as she will be setting out the agenda for the night.  Apologies to Wally Garrett (027 859 7580, or 7550988) email: by Noon  on the day of the meeting.